CAR Conference 2013 speaker bio: Dr Johan van Zyl

Dr Johan Van Zyl – President of NAAMSA. President and CEO of Toyota South Africa Motors

Dr Johan van Zyl joined Toyota South Africa in 1993 as Director: Vehicles Sales and Dealer Network, after earning a Doctorate in Business Economics from the University of Potchefstroom, where he subsequently worked as Professor at the Post-Graduate Business Management School until joining Toyota.

Dr Van Zyl was appointed Group Marketing Director in March 1995, and was promoted to Managing Director: Vehicle Marketing in 1996. He took up the post of Managing Director: Toyota (SA) Marketing, a year later.

In January 2002, he was promoted to the position of President and Chief Operating Officer and became President and CEO of Toyota SA Motors (TSAM) in August 2002. In June 2009 Dr Van Zyl was appointed to the position of Managing Officer (TMC) responsible for Africa. In April 2011 Dr van Zyl was appointed to the position of Deputy Chief Officer : Middle East, Africa and Latin American operations group and in March 2013 he took up the position of Chief Executive Officer for Toyota Africa, while retaining his responsibilities as President and CEO of TSAM.

He has travelled extensively to Japan, Europe, Africa and the United States in connection with business negotiations and extending his knowledge and skills in the automotive industry. Dr Van Zyl was elected as President of the National Association of Automobile Manufacturers of South Africa (NAAMSA) from 2005 – 2008, he has taken up the position for another term in 2013.

Sports in general, particularly rugby and motor sport, are among his major recreational interests. Dr Van Zyl also plays squash and is a keen runner, having excelled in athletics during his school and university careers. His interest in motoring matters extends to restoring classic cars. He was born in Springs, in 1958, but now lives in Pretoria with his wife, Santie, and two daughters, Nadia and Karla.

Dr van Zyl has a passion for education and serves on the Council for the North West University, the Advisory Boards of the University of Stellenbosch Business School and the Economics Faculty of Pretoria University.