Ferrari’s twin-turbo 3,9-litre V8 has again been crowned the overall winner at the International Engine of the Year Awards for 2018, becoming only the second engine (after Ford’s 1,0-litre EcoBoost three-pot) to scoop the title for three consecutive years.

Porsche’s turbocharged 3,0-litre six-cylinder placed second overall, with Ferrari’s 6,5-litre V12 completing the podium.

Judged by a fully independent, international panel of industry experts that includes CAR magazine’s very own technical editor, Nicol Louw, the 20th International Engine of the Year Awards were handed out at a ceremony in Germany.

The Ferrari V8, which is codenamed F154CB, has furthermore been named the best engine of the past two decades, scooping the “Best of Best” title conceived to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the awards.

The Maranello-based automaker also starred in other categories in 2018, grabbing the New Engine award for its aforementioned 6,5-litre V12 as well as winning the Performance Engine and 3,0-litre to 4,0-litre categories, again with the twin-turbo 3,9-litre V8.

"With its V8, Ferrari has demonstrated that even the most discerning of car buyers want smaller, more efficient engines. Indeed, the turbocharged engine's blend of heart-thumping performance and glorious Maranello rumble has made it unbeatable not just for the past three years, but also when pitched against the best of the past two decades," said Dean Slavnich, co-chairman of the International Engine of the Year Awards.

“In the 488 GTB, the 3,9-litre eight-cylinder was a near-perfect example of a high-performance turbocharged engine, setting the bar so high that it swept aside rival powertrains,” added Slavnich. “But redeveloped and tweaked for the 488 Pista, the best engine in the world just got better. Without doubt, we’re looking at an engineering masterclass from Ferrari. No turbo lag, beautiful delivery, raw emotion, a furious growl and so much power – this Ferrari V8 is a work of art.”

Meanwhile, Volkswagen took the sub-1,0-litre award for its turbocharged 1,0 three-cylinder and Tesla grabbed both the Green Engine and Electric Powertrain titles.

Check out all the winners below…

International Engine of the Year

1. Ferrari’s twin-turbo 3,9-litre V8
2. Porsche’s turbocharged 3,0-litre six-cylinder
3. Ferrari’s 6,5-litre V12
4. Tesla’s full-electric powertrain
5. Volkswagen’s turbocharged 1,0 three-cylinder
6. BMW’s 1,5-litre three-cylinder electric-petrol hybrid
7. Audi’s turbocharged 2,5-litre five-cylinder
8. PSA Peugeot Citroën’s turbocharged 1,2-litre three-cylinder
9. Porsche’s turbocharged 2,0-litre 

Best of the Best

1. Ferrari’s twin-turbo 3,9-litre V8
2. Ford’s turbocharged 1,0-litre three-cylinder
3. BMW M’s 3,2-litre
4. Volkswagen’s 1,4-litre TSI (twin-charged)
5. Toyota’s 1,5-litre Hybrid Synergy Drive
6. BMW’s 1,5-litre three-cylinder electric-petrol hybrid
7. BMW’s twin-turbo 3,0-litre
8. Mazda’s Renesis Rotary
9. Toyota’s 1,0-litre three-cylinder
10=. Honda’s 1,0-litre IMA
10=. BMW’s 4,4-litre Valvetronic
10=. Fiat’s 875cc TwinAir

Performance Engine

1. Ferrari’s twin-turbo 3,9-litre V8
2. Porsche’s 4,0-litre boxer
3. Ferrari’s 6,5-litre V12
4. Mercedes-AMG’s twin-turbo 4,0-litre V8
5. Audi’s 5,2-litre V10
6. BMW M’s twin-turbo 4,4-litre V8 

New Engine

1. Ferrari’s 6,5-litre V12
2. BMW M’s twin-turbo 4,4-litre V8
3. Mercedes-Benz’s twin-turbo 3,0-litre six-cylinder 48V
4. Porsche’s turbocharged 4,0-litre V8 electric-petrol hybrid
5. Audi’s turbocharged 2,9-litre six-cylinder
6. McLaren’s twin-turbo 4,0-litre V8 

Green Engine

1. Tesla’s full-electric powertrain
2. BMW’s 1,5-litre three-cylinder electric-petrol hybrid
3. BMW’s full-electric powertrain
4. General Motors’ full-electric powertrain
5. Volvo’s turbocharged, supercharged 2,0-litre electric-petrol hybrid
6. Renault-Nissan’s full-electric powertrain 

Electric Powertrain

1. Tesla’s full-electric powertrain
2. BMW’s full-electric powertrain
3. General Motors’ full-electric powertrain
4. Renault-Nissan’s full-electric powertrain
5. Volkswagen’s full-electric powertrain
6. Hyundai-Kia’s full-electric powertrain 

Sub 1,0-litre

1. Volkswagen’s turbocharged 1,0 three-cylinder
2. Ford’s turbocharged 1,0 three-cylinder
3. BMW’s 647cc two-cylinder electric-petrol range-extender
4. Honda’s turbocharged 988cc three-cylinder
5. Renault-Nissan’s turbocharged 898cc three-cylinder
6. General Motors’ turbocharged 999cc three-cylinder 

1,0-litre to 1,4-litre

1. PSA Peugeot Citroën’s turbocharged 1,2-litre three-cylinder
2. Volkswagen’s 1,4-litre TFSI ACT
3. Volkswagen’s 1,4-litre TFSI
4. Volkswagen’s 1,4-litre TFSI electric-petrol hybrid
5. Toyota’s turbocharged 1,2-litre
6. Fiat Chrysler’s turbocharged 1,4-litre MultiAir 

1,4-litre to 1,8-litre

1. BMW’s 1,5-litre three-cylinder electric-petrol hybrid
2. BMW’s turbocharged 1,5-litre three-cylinder
3. Volkswagen’s 1,5-litre TSI Evo
4. Audi’s 1,8-litre TFSI
5. Honda’s turbocharged 1,5-litre
6. Toyota/Lexus’ 1,8-litre electric-petrol hybrid 

1,8-litre to 2,0-litre

1. Porsche’s turbocharged 2,0-litre
2. Mercedes-AMG’s turbocharged 2,0-litre
3. Honda’s turbocharged 2,0-litre
4. Audi’s 2,0-litre TFSI
5. BMW’s twin-turbo 2,0-litre four-cylinder
6. Volvo’s 2,0-litre turbocharged, supercharged four-cylinder 

2,0-litre to 2,5-litre

1. Audi’s turbocharged 2,5-litre five-cylinder
2. Porsche’s turbocharged 2,5-litre
3. Ford’s turbocharged 2,3-litre
4. Toyota/Lexus’ 2,4-litre electric-petrol hybrid
5. Mercedes-Benz’s 2,1-litre CDI
6. Subaru’s turbocharged 2,5-litre 

3,0-litre to 4,0-litre

1. Ferrari’s twin-turbo 3,9-litre V8
2. Mercedes-AMG’s twin-turbo 4,0-litre V8
3. Porsche’s 4,0-litre boxer
4. Porsche’s turbocharged 3,8-litre boxer
5. McLaren’s twin-turbo 4,0-litre V8
6. Audi/Bentley’s tri-turbo 4,0-litre TDI V8