Dakar: Toyota Overdrive’s Al Rahji gets another win in stage 10

While the clash between Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and Mini X-Raid’s Stephane Peterhansel has not yet ended, it was stage nine’s fourth-place finisher, Toyota Overdrive’s Yazeed Al Rajhi, who claimed the top spot in stage ten.

Finishing close behind him on the stage that took drivers from Neom to AlUla were the aforementioned contenders. Although Al-Attiyah crossed the line in second place, Peterhansel was hot on his heels, just 49 seconds back. Overall, Al-Attiyah is 17 minute and one second behind leader Peterhansel.

For Mini X-Raid’s Carlos Sainz, it was another impressive stage with a fourth-place finish, just four minutes and 12 seconds behind the stage leader. He was followed closely by Orlen Overdrive’s Jakub Przygonski and Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Giniel de Villiers.

The fight for a top 10 position was particularly close on stage ten. Finishing in the final four positions of this section were Vladimir Vasilyev of X-Raid, SRT’s Mathieu Serradori, Century Racing’s Brian Baragwanath and BRX’s Nani Roma. All of these drivers finished within two minutes of each other.

The penultimate stage of Dakar 2021 is next, consisting of a 134 km liaison with a 464 km special.

Stage ranking

1. Al Rajhi (Toyota)
2. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +02:04
3. Peterhansel (Mini): +02:53
4. Sainz (Mini): +04:12
5. Przygonski (Toyota): +05:06
6. De Villiers (Toyota): +06:12
7. Vasilyev (Mini): +07:32
8. Serradori (SRT): +09:08
9. Baragwanath (Century): +09:36
10. Roma (BRX): +10:37

General ranking

1. Peterhansel (Mini)
2. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +17:01
3. Sainz (Mini): +01:03:44
4. Przygonski (Toyota): +02:18:43
5. Roma (BRX): +02:50:22
6. Al Qassimi (Peugeot): +03:13:14
7. Vasilyev (Mini): +03:14:56
8. De Villiers (Toyota): +03:43:28
9. Prokop (Ford): +03:45:46
10. Lavielle (Optimus): +04:30:52

Article written by

CAR magazine