Peterhansel claims 14th Dakar win after gruelling final stage!

Mini X-Raid’s Stephane Peterhansel brought home another Dakar win – his 14th overall – after the final stage of this year’s race.

“It’s still the same emotion for the 14th victory. Like I said, to win the Dakar is always really complicated. There are no easy victories on the Dakar. This one from the outside maybe looked easy, but it was not easy every day to manage the small gap over Nasser [Al-Attiyah],” said Peterhansel.

Finishing the stage in first place was teammate Carlos Sainz, who ended up third overall. He was pipped to second place by Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Al-Attiyah, who also finished second in this stage. The Toyota driver said the 16 punctures he suffered throughout the event didn’t help his cause.

Abu Dhabi Racing’s Cyril Despres ended the stage in fourth place, which saw him place tenth in the general rankings. He was followed by Vladimir Vasilyev of X-Raid, who held sixth position overall.

Orlen Overdrive’s Jakub Przygonski had a return to form in the final stage, with a sixth-place finish, which afforded him fourth position in the general rankings; just under one hour ahead from BRX’s Nani Roma, who ended this stage in eleventh place.

Sheikh Khalid Al Qassimi of Abu Dhabi Racing also managed a top 10 finish in the general ranking after finishing the final stage in seventh. Coincidentally, this is where he placed overall as well.

Eighth place for the tournament went to Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Giniel de Villiers, who completed the final stage in 10th position, with a seven minute and 39 second variance.

Stage ranking

1. Sainz (Mini)
2. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +02:13
3. Peterhansel (Mini): +02:53
4. Despres (Peugeot): +04:01
5. Vasilyev (Mini): +05:36
6. Przygonski (Toyota): +06:35
7. Al Qassimi (Peugeot): +06:39
8. Baragwanath (Century): +06:39
9. Serradori (SRT): +06:51
10. De Villiers (Toyota): +07:39

General ranking

1. Peterhansel (Mini)
2. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +13:51
3. Sainz (Mini): +01:00:57
4. Przygonski (Toyota): +02:35:03
5. Roma (BRX): +03:21:48
6. Vasilyev (Mini): +03:29:38
7. Al Qassimi (Peugeot): +03:33:31
8. De Vililers (Toyota): +03:57:39
9. Prokop (Ford): +04:09:21
10. Despres (Peugeot): +04:51:09


Article written by

CAR magazine